Jumbling up Aristotle

I am going to write one more posting on the topic of spam – and then get on with my digital scrap book on time in the next posting.

According to the Blogger Help website (http://www.google.com/support/blogger/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=42577 accessed Feb. 9, 2010) there is:

… a form of behavior known as link spamming. Blogs engaged in this behavior are called spam blogs, and can be recognized by their irrelevant, repetitive, or nonsensical text, along with a large number of links, usually all pointing to a single site … They may scrape content from other sites on the web, using other people’s writing to make it look as though they have useful information of their own.

Well, my previous post of searches on the ol’ TACIT site, indicates someone wanted to find “nicomachean ethics outline”. The reason why, might have a connection why the Blogger automated classification system classified the ol’TACIT blog as spam

One of the things I did previously was have individual posts on individual chapters of Aristotle’s Nicomachean Ethics. But I did not post them in sequential order. It wasn’t random either. Rather, I would schedule a batch of chapters in sequence, but as the day arrived, if I found I wanted to post something else, I would re-schedule that chapter to the end of my scheduled posts. And this just put everything out of order.

I was inspired by a web video on the ideas of Julian Barbour showing pictures of “nows” in random sequences. (I’ll dig up that link in a future post) I wasn’t sure where it was going to go or what I wanted to prove – but I wanted to try an experiment – and have something to refer back to.

Somehow, Aristotle with his writing style – at least as it gets translated into English – seemed an appropriate person to jumble up.

So how does this tie in the link spam issue. Well, each posting (and I believe I had over 70 postings published with several more scheduled when that blog got “disabled”) had a link to the one site where I was getting the Aristotle content. The work was licensed under a Creative Commons Licence and specified freedom to copy and display it. So I gave credit to the guy that transcribed it all into HTML with a link back to the one site on each and every posting I did.

Links to one site – including ethical sites – is spam I guess. Or do automated systems consider the writings of Aristotle as irrelevant, repetitive, nonsensical text?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

